Who I Am

Who am I? I find myself asking this question a lot. When I was an 18 year-old flame burning and itching to graduate, I thought the World was so many things. I thought the possibilities were endless. I was selfish. I was reckless. I was naive. That attitude and thought process continued throughout my early 20’s. I know I wasn’t alone in those kinds of actions, that seems to be what those years are about. Looking back, I am extremely appreciative to my parents. They afforded me (and my sister) many opportunities that they themselves never had. For example, my mother dreamed of being an interior designer. She would have made an amazing one. Instead, she began working for the phone company at age 17. She retired from there in 2009, the year after I graduated from college. 

I have always worried that my resume looks as though I don’t have any clue what I want to be when I grow up. I have several customer service positions (bar tending and serving) listed on there. I worked for Child Protective Services for two years and now a newspaper for two years. At the age I am right now, my mother had already worked for the same company for 13 years. Comparing myself to my mother here is only to reference the fact that I have tried many different occupations and have been able to better pinpoint the things I enjoy because of it. 

I am thankful for my morally corrupt years of my youth. It makes me know the person I never want to be. I am thankful for the many different jobs/careers I have tried, they have made me better understand what I do not want to do. I am thankful for my parents. Without their love, support, and years of working for the same company while putting their dreams on the backburner, I wouldn’t understand the magnitude of what those actions have meant for my life. 

  

I am not done with this process yet. I am on a road to discovery. Who am I? I am an evolving person. I am not measurable. My experience is not limited. I am more than my resume. I am more than my degree. I am more than my dreams. 

One thought on “Who I Am

Leave a Reply

