The Green-eyed Monster

My sweet baby, Cooper.

I started to write an entry yesterday, but I guess my son had other plans. Every time I sat down, he screamed. The truth is that I am glad that I had to refrain yesterday. I looked back on what I wrote and I have to admit that I was being a “Negative Nancy”.

This month makes seven months since Ben has been living separate from us because of his job. I find that I spend way too much time feeling sorry for myself. I know plenty of other people who are forced to live separately. I have friends who have military husbands. I have friends who have pipeline husbands. Heck, even my own mother is living separate from her other half for work purposes. I guess my biggest pitfall these last few months has been when my son and I hang out with our friends here in Texas. It is strange to hang out with other married couples who have their spouse with them at all times. I guess you can say that I sometimes turn into a green-eyed monster. I am not happy to admit that, but it is the truth. Just to watch the little things that they all enjoy together as a family sometimes breaks my heart. But, that is enough with the pity party.

Back on planet positive, I have come to a conclusion. Lately, it has seemed that God is everywhere I look. The last few days I have walked into a room and there has been something about God on television. When I check Facebook, there are daily Bible verses or quotes of scripture in my newsfeed. I have also found that in many of the conversations I have been having lately, God has been mentioned. I even read a book last week where the main character was seeing God. Now, I am a little embarrassed to admit that I have never been a very religious person. I did attend church with my grandmother when I was young. I didn’t go often enough to truly understand the stories in Sunday school. I have never been baptized. One summer, I went to church camp with my sweet friend Danielle and it was a wonderful experience. In high school, I attended a few different churches. Since I moved to Texas, I have attended church with my husband’s uncles a few times. I have also ventured to the church down the road from my house and a few weeks ago, my friend Marcia and I attended a different church together. It may sound strange or it may even sound selfish to say that I want to belong to a church to help me with the overwhelming loneliness I feel without my husband here. But, I have decided that if I am having a hard time dealing with things and I want to turn to God for help, then that can’t be the worst decision I have ever made. I also want to find a place for us to attend church so that Cooper will have the opportunity to learn the things about God that I never did as a child. I feel that one day it will be his decision about what religion he wants to practice, but I want him to have those building blocks that I did not.

With all that being said, I am on a mission to find a church where we belong. I know that no matter where we end up, I have appreciated each and every step of this journey and I know that God will help me be a better mother, a stronger wife and a more compassionate human being.

One thought on “The Green-eyed Monster

  1. Meredith, great decision. I could not make it every day without the strength the Lord gives me. I believe He is perusing you :)))). Isn’t that neat!?!? There are a group of us going to do an online Bible study if you are interested in that kind of thing. We would love for you to join us!!! Anyway, wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

